A Way Out

The room seemed too hot today. It was always hot in a ten foot wide room surrounded in aluminum. A rented trailer with four rooms for seven people just doesn’t get cool, ever. August of 1975 was just hot no matter where you were in South Texas but being in a ten by fifty-two foot trailer with six other people who expected a lot from a fifteen year old girl made matters worse. Everything you touch was sticky. Grease from the little stove in the kitchen area that served as a dining area that also was an open area to the living room, floated around freely when you cooked. Everything you cooked had grease on it because that is what you had to cook with, grease. Dry air from outside brought in the dust when the cars and big trucks rumbled by and that would stick to everything else. It’s no wonder everyone was pissed off all the time. Daddy wasn’t working much because he had broken ribs, from when momma tried to throw him out of the car so there wasn’t much money. This was just a mess and I sure didn’t know how they managed to get us into this place. I couldn’t even find a library to get a book to read. Well at least there was school when they didn’t have something for me to do, I had a good English teacher and she was really helping me with understanding poetry. If it would just cool off a little or a breeze would pop up I could go out to the picnic bench and read this book I got from my teacher.

Changing clothes in gym class wasn’t a big deal anymore. Sometimes it was the only sure way to have a shower. Wearing the clothes that came from the lost and found, because we couldn’t afford a gym outfit like the other kids was another matter. The crisp white shorts and shirts that the other girls wore was an obvious difference from the kind of greyish tone the ones the gym teacher handed out to me. The difference was noticed by the other girls. You either were new and hadn’t got your gym clothes yet, or you were one of the kind of kids who always wore the hand out clothes. They never quite smelled right, even after I took them home and washed them out in the sink with a bar of soap. Somehow they always smelled like other people’s sweat and dirt.

About connielisembee

Writer, Blogger, Dreamer.

4 responses to “A Way Out

  1. liz

    I felt as that 15 year old girl. I could feel the grime and feel the heat. Great start cannot wait to read what’s to come. Definitely had me wanting more.

  2. Nikkie Martin

    I was looking all over for the rest of the story lol

Leave a comment